For this church:
Mansfield Woodhouse St Edmund
There is no record of the date when the East Window of five lights, depicting the Ascension of Our Lord, was placed in the church, but it is more than 100 years old. It is of the Burne-Jones school which began the idea of putting as many figures as possible into the framework.
This window of three lights was presented by the Mothers’ Union and CEMS in 1938. It commemorates three groups who used to meet in the church. They are, left to right, Men’s Society (which depicts St Oswald, King and saint), the Mothers’ Union (which depicts the Virgin Mary and Child) and the Catechism class (depicting St Chad, Bishop and Saint with Lichfield Cathedral in his arms).
This window of three lights is unique. It depicts Sherwood Forest with rich greenery, coloured squirrels, rabbits and crows, with a Pit Top scene and a beautiful church. John Archibald Cartwright Taylor was manager at Sherwood Colliery.
The inscription (on a brass plaque) reads:
Glass inscription reads left to right:
This window of 3 lights dated 1617 is dedicated to Rowland Dand to celebrate his 21st birthday and features the Dand heraldic emblem.
Resting on the sill of this window is a piece of Flemish glass thought to be dated around 1300.
Brass plaque inscription reads:
This window of 2 lights depicts Jesus telling the disciples to:
and the baptism of the Ethiopian by Philip, which reads
The window is in memory of the Rev Alfred Brook 1870 first Vicar of Mansfield Woodhouse.