Edwalton Holy Rood

List of Incumbents

Until the second half of the 19th Century Edwalton had no resident incumbent. Whether it was serviced first by the Premonstratensian canons of Beauchief Priory, to which it was granted in 1175, is not known. Under an agreement of 1228 the rector of Flawford agreed to celebrate divine service four times weekly at Edwalton, and it is likely that Flawford continued to be the main provider of clergy for Edwalton for most of the medieval period, although it is evident that from time to time, eg in 1431, a chaplain had to be hired by the villagers. In later periods priests from Ruddington or West Bridgford were responsible for the cure of Edwalton and in 1738 the curate was the Master of the Free School in Nottingham.

Vicars of Edwalton since 1860

1860 Augustus Stover
1874 William John Cruft
(to July 1894)
Matthew Lamert
1895 James Robinson
Curates (Edwalton joined
temporarily with
West Bridgford)
Canon AH Millard
Herbert H Surgey
1902 Arthur Sutherland
1924 Joseph Ridgway
1948 Bishop JR Weller
1949 WD Willatt
1955 Ernest W Sheeran
1986 David C Bignell
2007 Peter W Wenham